Reviewing the Destiny Beta.

This past Sunday saw the completion of the almost two week long Destiny Beta and since it was made public for all four current consoles, I trust you found some time to give it a try. It is being reported that 4.6 million gamers did get a chance to play the beta and though most of the reviews are already out, I decided to touch on a few things myself.

My favorite part of the beta, that I really hope continues with the actual release, is that I could start a profile on my Xbox One and continue playing that exact same/profile from my Xbox 360. For most people this isn’t that big of a deal but for me who has my two consoles in two different locations, the ability to pick up and continue at work or home was a nice benefit. I am not sure if this was shared with the PS3 to PS4 nor do I believe that it would work cross platform(XB360 to PS4) so if anyone has insight into this it would be greatly appreciated.

I played through the beat until it cut off before 10PM EST on Sunday, in that time I tried my hand at every possible part available and discovered that there is a lot of ways to get lost playing this game. I wasted countless hours between trying to fight the high level baddies that were located underground and even after I was one shot killed multiple times, I kept going back to see if it was a fluke. I wasted far more time trying to jump up the tree in The Tower onto the awning because somebody said it could be done, I made it and damned if it wasn’t anticlimactic. I will say that I did not get to participate in a game of duck, duck, goose on The Tower, that one did hurt a little.

I played a little bit every day that I could, the game is easy to pick up and go, you are not required to work with other gamers but I do believe that it adds an extra level of fun to be able to team up to take down a baddy and then be on your own way. All in all I would say that I spent well over 30 hours playing the beta and had it not cut off on Sunday, I would have kept playing. I will definitely be picking this game up when it comes out in a little over a month from now on September 9th.

Leave a comment